Return to Headlines

West’s McBain Named New Principal of the Year

The Missouri Association of Elementary School Principals named West Elementary Principal Dr. Gina McBain as Exemplary New Principal of the Year for the Southwest Region on Dec. 13. 

According to MAESP, the Exemplary New Principal award is open to elementary and middle-level principals in their second or third year who demonstrate evidence of outstanding contributions to the community and education profession. 

McBain became head principal of West Elementary in May 2020 after acting as interim principal since that January. She joined Ozark School District as a teacher and special education process coordinator in 2001 and became the assistant principal at East Elementary in 2013. McBain completed her Doctor of Educational Leadership, Curriculum and Instruction degree with Evangel University in 2018.

“Dr. McBain has worked tirelessly in multiple roles for the students of Ozark. She always gives 110 percent to whatever role she is placed in. I couldn't be more proud of her,” Executive Director of Elementary Learning Dr. Kent Sappington said.

This marks the second consecutive year an Ozark administrator received this honor. Last year, MAESP named East Elementary Principal Anna Thurman as Exemplary New Principal and then-South Elementary Principal Dr. Kim Fitzpatrick as Distinguished Principal of the Year. Fitzpatrick now serves as the executive director of student services.