Return to Headlines

Board of Education Swears in 3 Incumbents; Johns Named President

The Ozark Board of Education is happy to welcome back three members following the June 2 election. Incumbents Tom Bass, Jeff Laney and Shane Nelson, who ran uncontested, were sworn onto the Board at the June 9 meeting. Laney then passed on his duties as board president to Aaron Johns, who the Board voted to serve as president for the 2020-21 school year. Bass will serve as vice president. 

“It’s a pleasure to take over the helm and follow in the footsteps of the previous great presidents that we’ve had as a Board,” said Johns, who has served on the Board for 12 years and is a 1982 Ozark graduate. “I’m looking forward to working with the Board as we move forward with the Innovation Center. My goal is to continue to keep our students and staff a top priority, be transparent, and listen to the Ozark community, because they are our backbone for the growth of our school.”

The board reorganization comes just a week following voter approval of the District’s $26.5 million no tax increase bond issue, Operation Renovate & Innovate, which will allow the opening of the Ozark Innovation Center and expansion of Tiger Paw Early Childhood Center. 

“It’s great having the experience of these three community members on the Board and to continue the momentum of Operation Renovate & Innovate,” Superintendent Chris Bauman said. “We’re excited to move forward with our long range plan that will impact every current and future Ozark student.”