Return to Headlines

FBLA brings home 32 medals from District Leadership Conference

Ozark FBLA participated in the District Leadership Conference Feb. 4 at Missouri State University where eight students were named district champions. 

Thirty-five Ozark High School students participated in the competition, bringing home 32 medals in 26 events.

FBLA — Future business Leaders of America — is a career student business organization designed to “inspire and prepare students to become community-minded business leaders in a global society through relevant career preparation and leadership experiences,” according to the FBLA website.

“This group of FBLA students did a great job this year. They put in a lot of time outside of school to get prepared for their events,” said Matt Fevold, OHS FBLA advisor. “Many events require the students to create presentations, websites and digital designs for businesses. While other events require the students to find solutions to business problems using outside-the-box thinking and creativity. These events are valuable with helping our kids learn real life skills in a fun, competitive environment.”

Congratulations to the following students:

State qualifiers:

  • Lauren Fergerson - Accounting, fifth
  • Camryn Denny - Advertising, second
  • Megan Surface - Business Communication, fifth
  • Nathaniel Kean - Computer Problem Solving, first and highest test score in Missouri; Cyber Security, first; Networking Concepts, first
  • Leah Currence and Maegan Surface - Hospitality Management, first 
  • Calla Yeara-Sothern - Introduction to Business, third; Introduction to Business Communication, second; Introduction to Business Procedures, first
  • Amy Surface - Journalism, second
  • Savannah Jenkins - Organizational Leadership, fourth
  • Grace Stine - Personal Finance, fifth
  • Claire Reynolds - Political Science, fifth 
  • Colton Ford - Publication Design, first
  • Ethan Paladino - Sports & Entertainment Management, first
  • Jaylen Weston - Advertising, fifth

Other top finishers:

  • Emily Cobb and Katelyn Marshall - Broadcast Journalism, third
  • Emma Bassett and Lauren Fergerson - Business Ethics, second
  • Abigail Meadows - Client Service, fourth
  • Drew Bloomquist - Emerging Business Issues, fifth
  • Emily McCulloch and Clair Reynolds - Global Business, third
  • Payeton Loughead - Job Interview, fourth
  • Grace Stine and Amy Surface - Marketing, third
  • Hannah Botarel and Molly Morrison - Public Service Announcement, third
  • Landan Heithold - Sales Presentation, fifth

OHS FBLA group photo