Return to Headlines

Ozark Band, Choir Fare Well at District Solo and Ensemble Festival

More than 45 Ozark High School students are state bound after receiving exemplary ratings at the 2022-23 District Solo and Ensemble Festival March 11 at Clever High School. State competition is held at the University of Missouri in late April. 


“We are so proud of all our students! No matter the scores, these kids took it upon themselves to try something new and challenging, and they have become better musicians because of it,” said Choir Director Connor Gately.


Seventy choir students performed in front of judges, receiving 18 Exemplary ratings (state qualifying), 18 Outstanding ratings, five Satisfactory ratings and one Developing rating. Congratulations to the following students who are members of the State-qualifying ensembles and soloists: 


  • Mixed Ensemble I: Matthew Baum, Easton Beezley, Lilly Corum, Will Elliott, Amber Martin, Miranda Payne, Noelle Pearcy, Andrew Shuford

  • Mixed Ensemble II: Wyatt Blevins, Alex Clements, Shelby Corum, Sophie Hall, Isaac Lane, Kamryn Mayfield, Harleigh Preston, Gavin Robertson

  • Chorale Women's Misc. Ensemble: Serena Broussard, Kat DeLamatter, Kamryn Mayfield, Katie McCall, Harleigh Preston, Olivia Southard, Kali Tucker

  • AWC Women's Misc. Ensemble: Jessica Curtis, Cammie Dyke, Bella Eagan, Ashley Hainline, Makenzi Hutchison, Brooklyn O'Neill, Elizabeth Thompson

  • AWC Women's Sextet I: Hannah Brookhart, Olivia Carpenter, Tristin Cathcart, Lilly Corum, Sophie Hall, Andrea Shuford

  • AWC Women's Sextet II: Bella Blair, Emma Burton, Jadyn Dalton, Kimberly Frazon, Skylar Hembree, Olivia Southard

  • AWC Women's Sextet III: Kaitie Coleman, Ella Hulse, Reyn Maughan, Janelle Spohn, Abby Tlaca, Morgan Williams



  • Andrea Shuford

  • Andrew Shuford

  • Ashley Hainline

  • Brooklyn O’Neill

  • Gavin Robertson

  • Hannah Brookhart

  • Harleigh Preston

  • Kaitie Coleman 

  • Lilly Corum

  • Kinley Scott

  • Will Elliot 

The OHS Band department had 55 entries, receiving 28 Exemplary ratings (state qualifying), 25 Outstanding ratings and two Satisfactory ratings. Congratulations to the following students who qualified for State: 


  • Sebastian Benedict

  • Malaia Best

  • Kaitlyn Brewer

  • Enoch Canter

  • Jaquelin Cardenas-Lopez

  • Rachel Divine

  • Sam Faught

  • Josh Glenn

  • Derek Gnagy

  • Truman Griessel

  • Callee Groves

  • Brianne Hakala

  • Coralynn Hare

  • Ellie Harmon

  • Caleb Hays

  • Molly Horrell

  • Elliott Judy

  • Connor Kitchin

  • Asher Lairmore

  • Ashlynn Langford-Wengard

  • Grace Mika

  • Savannah Miller

  • Jacob Mills

  • Mykaden Null

  • Kaetryn Oliver

  • Seth Palen

  • Curtis Plotke

  • Harleigh Preston

  • Allison Reese

  • Gavin Robertson

  • Jean Schnakenberg

  • Ailee Seawel

  • Andrew Shuford

  • Gram Speed

  • Leilani Taganeca-Allen

  • Leilani Tavares

  • Evan Wallace

  • Laura Wolfe