Return to Headlines

Ozark New Shooter League goes Undefeated for the Season

Ozark New Shooter League goes Undefeated for the Season


The Ozark High School AJROTC Rifle Team completed their season undefeated with an 8-0 record averaging 1053 points per match. The team competed against teams in Florida, Minnesota, Alabama, Nevada and Kentucky without ever leaving home.

The National Air Rifle New Shooter League, sponsored by the Orion Scoring System, is a national team league exclusive to athletes in their first year of competition from high schools and junior rifle clubs throughout the United States. The season consists of eight virtual matches.

Coach 1SG William Crawford said, “The benefit of this specific league is for our first-year shooters to get used to competing nationally. Before this league our new shooters would go through the first season just preparing and practicing.”

The teams compete in what is known as a three-position air rifle match. The match is modeled after Olympic rifle competitions but adapted to high school age athletes. Each athlete will shoot 10 shots in three different shooting positions: prone, standing and kneeling. Each shot is worth a maximum of 10 points. The sum of points scored in the 30 shots is the athlete's total. The team score is comprised of the best four athletes from each team.

“I am proud and humbled by the new shooters this season,” said Crawford. “We went undefeated again for the second year in a row and the two highest shooters in the entire league were #1 Sydney Broussard and #2 Elijah Glenn. This year was phenomenal and I am extremely proud of how my new shooters did and this has me looking forward to next year.”

Team members include Brody Baumann, Sydney Broussard, Katelyn Donovan Elijah Glenn, Alexis Lake, Hanna McConnell, Shealynn Myers, Lucas Shepard, Liberty Todd and John Uccello.