If you don't already have a teaching certification, please apply for a substitute certificate. Click here and you will be taken to the DESE (Department of Elementary and Secondary Education). The substitute page will give you the information to apply for a substitute certificate. DESE charges $50.00 for a four-year substitute certificate.
Individuals with valid Missouri teaching certificates who wish to substitute teach in a school district are no longer required by DESE to apply for a substitute certificate. This includes individuals who hold an initial professional, career continuous professional, lifetime, student services, administration, provisional, and/or temporary certificate. If the educator allows his/her teaching certificate to expire at any time, then a substitute certificate would be required.
An alternative pathway for becoming a Substitute Teacher in Missouri: A Content Substitute certificate may be granted to an individual who is at least 21 years of age, has a high school diploma, General Education Diploma (GED), or High School Equivalency Test (HiSET) and has successfully completed a minimum of twenty (20) clock hours of department-approved substitute teacher training that includes professionalism, honoring diversity, engaging students, foundational classroom management techniques, basic instructional strategies, supporting students with special needs, and working with at-risk youth. Approved training is available here:
Substitute Teacher Certificates based on the successful completion of this training will not be issued until after this date. In addition to completing the training, applicants must pass a background check and submit an application for their certificate.